“You must know life to see decay…”

Waking up on this rain drenched San Francisco morning, I sit and contemplate the power of rain. Last night, walking back from Whole Foods with paper grocery bags, it began to rain. I was marveling about how rain is such a beautiful thing because it does not care where we are or what is on our agenda, if we have a fancy event to attend or really need a good hair day. It falls when and where it deems necessary.

 

Just five minutes later, one of the bags rip and the food goes all over the sidewalk! Hallelujah that the dinner plans included only vegetables and nuts so only a few walnuts were spared. The eggplant and peppers just got a little prewash before being layered into a baked veggie napoleon. In the end, it made for a great laugh and a moment of gratitude to see all the delicious and nutritious food I was about to cook and consume spread along the sidewalk. How fortunate I am as this Thanksgiving holiday approaches!

 

So apart from the wet pant-leg soaked jeans and the sometimes extremely bad timing of rain, it holds an extreme cleansing force. The refreshing shower that picks up environmental dust bunnies and recycles them also can invoke an internal focus in us to pick up our own dust bunnies (whatever they may be) and recycle them into more positive energy. We are forced to either hide inside and relax our busy minds or get out there and play like never before — both offering us a connection to our inner self.

 

Recently, I have been hooked on listening to Mumford and Sons. Their lyrics have been a great reminder of taking personal responsibility, exposing vulnerability, and being in touch with ourselves and our world around us. Immediately this morning, I thought of the song “After the Storm.” I couldn’t help but link my favorite part of my song to the cleanse and regrowth cycle of rain:

 

And there will come a time, you’ll see, with no more tears.
And love will not break your heart, but dismiss your fears.
Get over your hill and see what you find there,
With grace in your heart and flowers in your hair.

 

How true is it that so much of life is getting over our own hill?! They sing that, “you must know life to see decay.” The truth that when we start making decisions from self-love (including forgiveness) and start taking accountability for our actions (and not those of others), then it becomes much clearer and easier to recognize the decay around us that needs to be washed away. My personal goal is to hold the awareness to constantly question how much of the decay around me am I contributing to and can I continue to let go of those things, thoughts, habits, people, etc. that are not serving me to where “love will not break your heart, but dismiss your fears.”  

 

So whatever the rain means to you, can you come from a place of love that is full of life and free of decay? Whether that means staying inside or getting out to play, my hope is that while when it comes time to cleanse and refresh, we all can have grace in our hearts and flowers in our hair (flowers optional, of course).

***

And after the storm,

I run and run as the rains come
And I look up, I look up,
on my knees and out of luck,
I look up.Night has always pushed up day
You must know life to see decay
But I won’t rot, I won’t rot
Not this mind and not this heart,
I won’t rot.And I took you by the hand
And we stood tall,
And remembered our own land,
What we lived for.And there will come a time, you’ll see, with no more tears.
And love will not break your heart, but dismiss your fears.
Get over your hill and see what you find there,
With grace in your heart and flowers in your hair.And now I cling to what I knew
I saw exactly what was true
But oh no more.
That’s why I hold,
That’s why I hold with all I have.
That’s why I hold.

I will die alone and be left there.
Well I guess I’ll just go home,
Oh God knows where.
Because death is just so full and mine so small.
Well I’m scared of what’s behind and what’s before.

And there will come a time, you’ll see, with no more tears.
And love will not break your heart, but dismiss your fears.
Get over your hill and see what you find there,
With grace in your heart and flowers in your hair.

Leave a Reply

